Animal Health > Animal Health: Horses
horse grazing in field

 Horses

Equine Movement Requirements


Fair and Show Requirements: Horses, Ponies, Mules and Other Equidae

All Equine

General Requirements

Identification: Individual official identification shall include the following as applicable; name, registration number, tattoo or brand, breed, age, sex, color and markings if present.Animals using tattoos or brands for official identification must be accompanied with the breed registration papers.

Equine Infectious Anemia (Coggins) Testing: All equine for exhibition shall be accompanied by a valid Coggins Test done within 12 months prior to exhibition entry.

Self Certification Requirement and Exemption: Exhibitor's Self Certification of Animal Health is required for each equine entering a fair/show-type event where multiple livestock species are present. The form must be available for inspection if requested. Those participating in equine-only shows and events are exempt from this requirement; however, it is good practice to thoroughly double check the health and skin condition of the animal before departing for the event. The form provides an easy checklist to do this. Exhibitors may not bring an animal having apparent or known signs of a contagious or infectious disease to a show.

Maryland Equine

1.        All horses and other equidae, 9 months of age and older, shall be accompanied by a negative test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) made within the 12 months before the date of the event. A copy of this test shall accompany every animal.

2.        A CVI is not required for Maryland equine

Out-of-State Equine

1.        All horses and other equidae, 9 months of age and older, shall be accompanied by a negative test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) made within the 12 months before the date of the event. A copy of this test shall accompany every animal.

2.        All horses and other equidae shall be accompanied by a CVI issued within 30 days prior to entry.

3.        The following contiguous states and New Jersey are exempted from the CVI requirement: Delaware, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia.


Equine Regulations

Educational Resources

      
    The Horse Protection Act- USDA Factsheet
    The Key to Keeping Your Horse Healthy: Biosecurity- USDA Pamphlet

Reportable Equine Diseases

      
    ** Equine Neurologic Syndrome (EHV, WNV, EPM, Rabies)
    African Horse Sickness
    Anthrax
    Brucellosis
    Contagious Equine Metritis
    Dourine (equine trypanosomiasis)
    EHV
    EPM
    Equine Encephalomyelitis
    Equine Infectious Anemia
    Equine Viral Arteritis
    Glanders
    Piroplasmosis
    Rabies
    Rabies*
    Salmonellosis
    Screw Worms
    Suspected Foreign Animal Disease
    Tuberculosis
    Vesicular Lesions
    Vesicular Stomatitis
    West Nile Virus*
    WNV