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MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS 
50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Room 102, Annapolis, Maryland 21401 

Telephone: 410.841.5862     Facsimile: 410.841.5780 www.mda.maryland.gov 
 

 

 

Instructions for Applicants Seeking a Maryland Veterinary Technician Registration 

 
NOTE: All information requested is on-going in nature.  Failure to provide the Board with any 

changes to the information supplied can result in denial or revocation of your license and/or 

registration.  If the application for licensure has not been successfully completed within one year from 

the date of initial submission, a new application and fee will be required.  Type or print clearly all 

information except personal signature.  Please follow instructions provided. 

 

1. The State Board Examination requires all applicants to read and comprehend the laws 

and regulations governing registered veterinary technicians in Maryland, and sign a 

statement attesting to that fact on the last page of the enclosed application. 

 

A. Submit the following if your Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE) 

score is less than five years old: 

 

i.) A completed and notarized Application for Examination and Registration. 

ii.) A school authenticated, or notarized, copy of your diploma or transcript, which 

must come directly from your school. 

iii.) One 2” x 3” photograph taken within the past six months, with your complete 

signature on the back of the photograph. 

iv.) A non-refundable application fee of $85 (make check or money order payable to 

SBVME). 

v.) If you are planning to take the VTNE in Maryland, you must contact the AAVSB 

at (877) 698-8482 or go to www.aavsb.org to apply for the exam.  If you take the 

VTNE in Maryland and intend to register as a veterinary technician in Maryland, 

your VTNE score will be transferred automatically from the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) to the Maryland Board’s office.   

vi.) If you applied through another State Board to take the VTNE, you must have your 

score transferred by the Veterinary Technician Information Verifying Agency 

(TIVA), which is affiliated with the AAVSB. The TIVA Score Transfer Request 

Application may be obtained online at www.aavsb.org 

 

 

http://www.aavsb.org/
http://www.aavsb.org/
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vii.) If you are registered by other State boards, the Maryland Board will need letters 

  of good standing, or registration verification, from all board(s) in which you are 

 now registered or have ever been registered.  These letters must come directly    

from the other State boards to this office. 

 

B.  Submit the following if your VTNE score is more than five years old: 

 

i.) A completed and notarized Application for Examination and Registration. 

ii.) A school authenticated, or notarized, copy of your diploma or transcript, which 

must come directly from your school. 

iii.) One 2” x 3” photograph taken within the past six months, with your complete 

signature on the back of the photograph. 

iv.) A non-refundable application fee of $85 (make check payable to SBVME). 

v.) Resume of professional activity, evidencing that you have been employed in a 

clinical practice as a veterinary technician continuously for the 5 years preceding 

application. 

vi.) Letters of good standing from all board(s) in which you are now registered or 

have ever been registered.  These letters must come directly from the other State 

boards to this office. 

C. It may also be necessary for you to meet with the Maryland Board to discuss your 

application. 

 

2.  Educational Requirements 

 

For the State Board Examination, an applicant must have a school authenticated 

certificate showing that the applicant is: 

 

A. A graduate or candidate for graduation from a veterinary technician program 

approved by the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), or 

B. A holder of an associate’s degree or above, which includes a minimum of three 

credits each in certain college courses.  See COMAR 15.14.13 for specifics on 

this requirement.   
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 3. Work experience and Continuing Education. 

 For an applicant who is not a graduate of an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology 

program, the following shall be provided (see COMAR 15.14.13 for specifics on this 

requirement). 

 A. Proof of completion of 10,000 hours of work experience as a technician; 

 B. Completed Technician Skill Assessment; 

 C. Proof of 24 hours of veterinary technician continuing education; and  

D. Proof of having completed 24 hours of work as a veterinary technician in a 

veterinary emergency facility. 

 

4.  A passing score for the VTNE is determined by the AAVSB. 

 

5.  Your application cannot be processed unless all of the information requested has 

been supplied.  The information you supply notifies the Maryland Board of your 

interest in obtaining a registration, and how you may be contacted.  

Additionally, some of this information is used by the Maryland Board in its 

determination of whether to issue you a registration.  You have the right to 

inspect, amend, or correct this information.  Under State Government Article, 

§10-617, Annotated Code of Maryland, this information would be generally 

available for public inspection.  This information is not routinely shared with 

state, federal, or local government agencies. 

 

6.  Applications shall be mailed to: 

 

State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 

Maryland Department of Agriculture 

50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Room 102 

Annapolis, MD 21401 

 

7.  If additional information is needed, contact: 

 

State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 

Telephone: 410.841.5862 


