Initial Licensure & Reinstatements

For Veterinarians:

Initial Licensure:
If you are interested in applying for initial licensure or if you were issued a Maryland veterinary license and it has lapsed for 5 or more years, click below:  
  

Late Licensure Renewal (less than 12 months expired):

If you have a Maryland veterinary license and no more than 12 months have lapsed since your license expired, you may renew your license online, at: https://www.mdavet.org.  To renew online, you will need your license number and your control number.  If you need these numbers, please contact the State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners' (SBVME) office at (410) 841-5862.
 
Licensure Reinstatement (12 months to 5 years expired):
If you have a Maryland veterinary license that expired 12 months to 5 years ago, you shall seek reinstatement of the license before resuming the practice of veterinary medicine.  If you are interested in applying for reinstatement, click below: 

       * Request for Veterinary Personal History Form Update for Reinstatement of License

  

For Veterinary Technicians: 

A. Steps for graduate or candidate for graduation from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program: 

  1. If you have not taken and received a passing score on the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE), you must apply to take this examination.  For information on applying to take the VTNE, please go to the following website: www.aavsb.org/VTNE If you are unable to locate answers to your questions upon reviewing this site, please call the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) at (816) 931-1504.  The VTNE is offered during three testing windows at five Prometric Testing Centers in Maryland and at two Prometric Testing Centers in Washington DC.
  2. If you have taken and received a passing score on the VTNE, you will need to have your score transferred to the SBVME unless you sat for this exam in Maryland. Please review "Instructions for Completion of Application to Become a Registered Veterinary Technician," below, for information on score transfer. If you sat for the VTNE in Maryland, a request for score transfer is not required.
  3. Provide the SBVME with a final transcript from your AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program.  This document should be sent directly from the college to the SBVME's office.  If you are supplying the SBVME with this document, it must be submitted in an envelope with an unbroken seal from the college.
  4. The Maryland State Board Examination is a jurisprudence exam.  To complete this exam, you must first complete steps 1-3, above.  Then you are required to read the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine and, more specifically, the practice of veterinary technology, in the State of Maryland.
  5. Review the laws (Annotated Code of MD) and regulations (Code of Maryland Regulations) by selecting the links below: 
 
6. After completing step 5, you may request an application to become a Registered Veterinary Technician.  Click below to obtain the request form:
 
  *  Request for Veterinary Technician Registration Application
 

Questions about becoming a registered veterinary technician may be directed to the SBVME's office at (410) 841-5862.

 

B. Steps for applicant who is not a graduate or candidate for graduation from an AVMA-accredited veterinary technology program: 

  1. Provide the SBVME with a final transcript showing you to be a holder of an associate's degree or above. This document should be sent directly from the college to the SBVME's office. If you are supplying the SBVME with this document, it must be submitted in an envelope with an unbroken seal from the college. Certain coursework, in addition to a Technician Skill Set assessment, continuing education, and work experience must be obtained and proof of same shall be completed for registration eligibility consideration. These requirements are outlined in Regulation .03 (Qualifications for Examination) in COMAR 15.14.13.
  2. Upon review of all documents referenced in B.1., above, a determination will be made as to your eligibility to sit the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE). If you are confirmed as eligible to sit the exam, please go to the following website: www.aavsb.org/VTNE If you are unable to locate answers to your questions upon reviewing this site, please call the American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) at (816) 931-1504. The VTNE is offered during three testing windows at five Prometric Testing Centers in Maryland and at two Prometric Testing Centers in Washington DC.
  3. Upon your receipt of a passing score on the VTNE in an official letter, you may prepare for the Maryland State Board Examination.  This is a jurisprudence exam.  To take this exam, you must first complete steps B.1-2, above.  Then you are required to read the laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine and, more specifically, the practice of veterinary technology, in the State of Maryland.
  4. Review the laws (Annotated Code of MD) and regulations (Code of Maryland Regulations) by selecting the links below:
  5. After completing step 4, you may request an application to become a Registered Veterinary Technician.  Click below to obtain the request form: 
    • Request for Veterinary Technician Registration Application
Late Registration Renewal (less than 5 years expired): 
If you have a Maryland veterinary technician number  and no more than 5 years have lapsed since your registration expired, you may renew your registration 
online, at: https://www.mdavet.org.  To renew online, you will need your registration number and your control number.  If you need these numbers, please contact the SBVME's office at (410) 841-5862.
 
Licensure Reinstatement (5 or more years expired):
If you have a Maryland veterinary technician number that expired 5 or more years ago, you shall seek reinstatement of the registration before resuming the practice of veterinary technology.  If you are interested in applying for reinstatement, click below:
 
       * Request for Veterinary Technician Personal History Form Update to Reinstate Registration
 

Questions about becoming a registered veterinary technician may be directed to the SBVME's office at (410) 841-5862. 

 

For Veterinary Hospital Owners:

If you currently possess a veterinary hospital license, and need to renew your annual license, please contact the SBVME's office, at (410) 841-5862.
 

If you are opening a new veterinary hospital, click below: 

If you are opening a veterinary hospital at a new location, click below: 

If you are taking ownership of an existing veterinary hospital, click below: 

To request an initial veterinary hospital license application for any of the above situations except licensure renewal, click below :

  *  Request for Initial Veterinary Hospital License Application

Laws regarding veterinary hospitals: 

  

Regulations regarding veterinary hospitals: