

Maryland Department of Agriculture

Office of the Secretary

Wes Moore, Governor Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor Kevin M. Atticks, Secretary Steven A. Connelly, Deputy Secretary Governor's Intergovernmental Commission on Agriculture [GICA]

The Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building 50 Harry S Truman Parkway Annapolis, Maryland 21401

410-841-5880 Baltimore/Washington 410-841-5914 Fax

Governor's Intergovernmental Commission on Agriculture Agenda April 23rd, 2025 1:00 PM Location: 50 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401

Google Meet Link*: <u>https://meet.google.com/ycg-iiwn-fsw</u>

- I. Welcome
 - a. Secretary of Agriculture, Kevin Atticks, Chair
- II. Mission & Administrative Updates
 - a. Rachel Jones, MDA Director of Government Relations
- III. Approval of October 2024 Minutes
- IV. Subcommittee Updates
 - a. Environment & Natural Resources
 - i. Nadya Chebab, MDA Coordinator of Equity and Climate Initiatives
 - b. Value Added Agriculture
 - i. Martin Proulx, MDA Value Added Agriculture Specialist
 - c. Labor, Education & Development
 - i. Rachel Jones, MDA Director of Government Relations
- V. Overview of Interagency Legislation & Regulations
- VI. Interagency Definitions of Agriculture and Commercial
- VII. New Business
 - a. On-Farm Home Processing License Updates, MDH
 - b. Other
- VIII. Agency Updates
- IX. Public Comment Period

Meeting Date Full / Subcommittee 4/23/2025 GICA 5/8/2025 Subcommittees 7/17/2025 **Subcommittees** 8/7/2025 GICA 9/4/2025 **Subcommittees** 11/6/2025 **Subcommittees** 12/4/2025 GICA

2025 Meeting Schedule

*Please be advised that this meeting is being recorded in accordance with the Maryland Open Meetings Act to ensure transparency and public access to the proceedings. All attendees are considered to have consented to being recorded by participating in this meeting.

11	1
Voting Member, Seat Name	Appointee
1. Maryland Agricultural Commission	J. Kelly Lewis
2. Public Member	Susanne Richards
3. MD Assn. of Counties	Stephanie Ida Jones
4. MD Municipal League	Vacant
5. MD Assn. of County Health Officers	Vacant
6. MD Assn. of County Planning Officers	Jenny Dempsey
7. Maryland Farm Bureau	Vacant
8. Rural Maryland Council	Vacant
9. Public Member	Heather Bruskin
10. Public Member	Vacant
11. Public Member	Katie Stevens
12. Public Member	Ashley Drakeford
13. MARBIDCO	Steve McHenry
14. Public Member	Megan Todd, Esq.
15. Public Member	Alice Chalmers
16. Public Member	Nancy Nunn
17. Public Member	Jessica Richards
18. Public Member	Kelly Dudeck
19. Secretary of Agriculture	Kevin Atticks, Chair

GICA Appointed Membership

Advisory Agencies (2006 Executive Order)

Non-Voting, Member Agency	Secretary	Designee
Department of Planning	Rebecca Flora	Debbie Herr Cornwell
Department of Health	Dr. Meena Seshamani	Dr. Cliff Mitchell/ Dr. Nilesh
		Kalyanaraman
Department of Natural Resources	Josh Kurtz	Paul Peditto
Department of the Environment	Serena McIlwain	Suzanne Dorsey/ Adam Ortiz/
		Naomi Howell/ Scott Goldman
Department of Commerce	Harry Coker	Joe Milone
UMD AGNR	Dean Craig Beyrouty	Dr. Darren Jarboe

Advisory Agencies (2025 Executive Order, Pending)

Non-Voting, Member Agency	Secretary	Designee
Maryland State Department of Education	Dr. Carey Wright	
Department of Aging	Carmel Roques	Latanya Clark
Department of Human Services	Rafael Lopez	Eugenia Gusev
Maryland Energy Administration	Director Paul Pinsky	Evie Schwartz
Department of Labor	Portia Wu	
Department of Emergency Management	Russ Strickland	Anna Sierra