Staff Directory


Public Information Act Requests:
Denise Burrell
410-841-5880
denise.burrell@maryland.gov 
Department​​ Telephone Numbers
Baltimore/Annap​​olis
410-841-5700

Headquarters Fax Machine
​410-841-5914​ 





Title Name Email Phone Number
OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
Secretary of AgricultureJoseph BartenfelderJoe.Bartenfelder@maryland.gov410-841-5880
Deputy Secretary of AgricultureSteve Connelly
steve.connelly@maryland.gov
410-841-5881
Executive Associate to the Secretary Denise Burrelldenise.burrell@maryland.gov
410-841-5830
Executive Associate to the Deputy Secretary Emily Baldwin
emily.baldwin1@maryland.gov​410-841-5831
Communications, DirectorJason Schellhardtjason.schellhardt@maryland.gov410-841-5888
Legislation & Government Relations, DirectorCassie 
Shirk
cassie.shirk@maryland.gov410-841-5886




Administrative Services
Administrative Services, DirectorEric Von Pariseric.vonparis@maryland.gov
410-841-5845
Information Technology
410-697-9734
Human ResourcesGwen Schindlergwen.schindler@maryland.gov410-841-5840
Central Services410-841-5900
OFFICE OF MARKETING ANIMAL INDUSTRIES AND CONSUMER SERVICES
Assistant SecretaryCassie Shirk
​cassie.shirk@maryland.gov
410-841-5782
Animal Health Program Manager
& State Veterinarian
Dr. Michael Odian
michael.odian@maryland.gov410-841-5810
Animal Health Diagnostic Laboratory - Frederick
301-600-1548
Animal Health Diagnostic Laboratories - Salisbury 
410-543-6610
Food Quality Assurance, Program ManagerMolly Gillingham
molly.gillingham@maryland.gov410-841-5769
Marketing Service, Program Manager
Mark Powellmark.powell@maryland.gov410-841-5770
International MarketingTheresa Brophytheresa.brophy@maryland.gov410-841-5770
​Seafood Marketing​Stone Slade​stone.slade@maryland.gov​410-841-5779
Farmers Market Nutrition Program Weida Stoeckerkaren.kirksey@maryland.gov410-841-5776
Maryland's Best
410-841-5770
Maryland Farm to School Karen Fedorkaren.fedor@maryland.gov410-5773
Spay and Neuter Advisory BoardNathan Boannathan.boan@maryland.gov410-841-5766
Weights & Measures, Program ManagerKenneth Ramsburgkenneth.ramsburg@maryland.gov410-841-5790
OFFICE OF PLANT INDUSTRIES & PEST MANAGEMENT
Assistant SecretaryKevin Conroykevin.conroy@maryland.gov410-841-5916
Forest Pest Management, Program ManagerCraig Kuhncraig.kuhn@maryland.gov410-879-8034
Forest Pest Management, Central MarylandTom Luppthomas.lupp@maryland.gov240-529-0390
Forest Pest Management, Eastern ShoreHeather Disqueheather.disque@maryland.gov410-822-8234
Forest Pest Management, Northeast MarylandCraig Kuhncraig.kuhn@maryland.gov410-879-8034
Forest Pest Management, Western MarylandSally Cannonsally.cannon@maryland.gov301-777-3601
Mosquito Control, Program ManagerBrian Prendergast brian.prendergast@maryland.gov410-841-5870
Mosquito Control, SalisburyDan Schambergerdaniel.schamberger@maryland.gov410-543-6626
Mosquito Control, HollywoodRalph Heardralph.heard@maryland.gov301-373-4263
Mosquito Control, Riverdale
301-422-5080
Pesticide Regulation, Program ManagerRob Hoffstetter
rob.hofstetter@maryland.gov410-841-5710
Pesticide Regulation Section, Special Programs

410-841-2768
Plant Protection & Weed Management, Program ManagerKimberly Ricekimberly.rice@maryland.gov410-841-5920
Apiary InspectionCybil Prestoncybil.preston@maryland.gov410-841-5920
Nursery InspectionJaime Tsambikos
jaime.tsambikos@maryland.gov​410-841-5920
Pest IdentificationGaye Williamsgaye.williams@maryland.gov410-841-5920
Plant Diagnostic LabRamesh Pokharelramesh.pokharel@maryland.gov410-841-5920
Weed ControlLane Heimerlane.heimer@maryland.gov410-841-5920
State Chemist, Program ManagerTom Phillipstom.phillips@maryland.gov410-841-2721
State Chemist Laboratory ManagerKen McManuskenneth.mcmanus@maryland.gov410-841-2721
​State Chemist, Registration Mgr & Compost Coordinator​Philip Davidson​philip.davidson@maryland.gov​410-841-2721
​State Chemist, Tonnage Coordinator​Pat Ray​pat.ray@maryland.gov​410-841-2721
​State Chemist, Inspector Manager​Harwood Owings, III​harwood.owings@maryland.gov​​410-841-2721
Turfgrass & Seed, Program ManagerJim Drewsjim.drews@maryland.gov410-841-5960

OFFICE OF RESOURCE CONSERVATION
Assistant SecretaryHans Schmidthans.schmidt@maryland.gov410-841-5865
Watershed Implementation Program AdministratorJason Kepplerjason.keppler@maryland.gov410-841-5896
Ecosystem Markets and Agricultural Certainty Programs Coordinator
​410-841-5897
Nutrient Management Program AdministratorDwight Dottererdwight.dotterer@maryland.gov410-841-5959
​Resource Conservation - Planning & Development, Resource Conservation ​Alisha Mulkey​alisha.mulkey@maryland.gov410-841-5873​
Resource Conservation District Operations, Program ManagerByron Petrauskasbyron.petrauskas@maryland.gov410-841-5952
Resource Conservation District Operations, Western/Central Md
Heather Hutchinsonheather.hutchinson@maryland.gov301-732-8610
Resource Conservation District Operations, Patuxent
410-841-5893
Resource Conservation Disrict Operations, Eastern ShoreDavid Misterdavid.mister@maryland.gov410-677-0802, ext. 1
Maryland Agricultural Conservation Grants, AdministratorJason Keppler
jason.keppler@maryland.gov410-841-5896​
BOARDS
​Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation ​Michelle Cable, Executive Director​michelle.cable@maryland.gov410-841-5860​
​Maryland Horse Industry Board​Ross Peddicord, Executive Director​ross.peddicord@maryland.gov410-841-5861​
​Maryland Agricultural Fair BoardJessica O'Sullivanjessica.osullivan@maryland.gov​410-841-5882
​State Board of Veterinary Medical ExaminersVanessa Orlando, Executive Directorvanessa.orlando@maryland.gov​410-841-5862​
Commissions
Governor's Advisory Commission on Maryland Wine & Grape GrowingKaren Fedor, Coordinatorkaren.fedor@maryland.gov410-841-5773
Maryland Agricultural CommissionJessica O'Sullivanjessica.osullivan@maryland.gov410-841-5882
State Soil Conservation Committee
410-841-5865
Pesticide Advisory CommitteeRob Hofstetter, Coordinatorrob.hofstetter@maryland.gov410-841-5710
Other



State Statistician, USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
Shareefah Williams
shareefah.williams@usda.gov
410-841-5740
Rural Maryland CouncilCharlotte Davischarlotte.davis@maryland.gov410-841-5774
Counsel to the Department, Office of the Attorney GeneralThomas Filbertthomas.filbert@maryland.gov410-841-5895​






Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information