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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

 
 
Processing and Selling Value Added Food Products in 
Maryland 

 
All products sold in Maryland must at a minimum be labeled with the name and 
address of the producer or distributor, a quantity statement (count, fluid 
measurement or net weight depending on the product), the identity of the 
product, the ingredients listed in descending order of prominence by weight.  The 
requirements listed only address food safety requirements and licensure 
requirements.  Local and state zoning, waste disposal and other laws may apply.  
Instead of obtaining the license(s) to process the value added products, a farmer 
can have them processed at a licensed facility and returned to the farm for sales. 
 
Primary Contacts:   
 
Maryland Department of Health Requirements – https://health.maryland.gov ; 
(410)767-8400   
 
Maryland Department of Agriculture Requirements – www.mda.maryland.gov ; 
(410) 841-5769 
 
For questions or e-mail inquiries - value.added@maryland.gov 
 
Terms and Definitions -  
 
Cottage Foods: Allows certain non-potentially hazardous foods to be made and 
packaged in a private home kitchen. The prepackaged cottage food can be sold 
directly to a consumer from a residence, at a farmer’s market, at a public event, 
by personal delivery, or by mail delivery; or to a retail food store, including a 
grocery store, or a food cooperative. Sales must not exceed $25,000 annually, 
and can only be offered within Maryland. Sales through interstate commerce are 
not allowed. No license is required.  
 
Farmer’s Market:   A place where a person offers or sells one or more of the 
following food product directly to the public:  raw agricultural products; products 
processed under an On-Farm Home Processing license; products that are not 
potentially hazardous and do not require refrigeration that are processed in a 
licensed food processing plant; and/or eggs that are regulated by MDA. 

https://health.maryland.gov/
http://www.mda.maryland.gov/
mailto:value.added@maryland.gov
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On-Farm Home Processing License:  License issued by MD Department of Health 
(MDH).  Must be a farmer and sales must be less than $40,000.00 annually.  
Allows the processing of some products in a home kitchen.  Cost - $30.00 
annually. 
 
Organic Certification:  Certification by a USDA National Organic Program 
accredited certifier required if over $5,000 in annual sales of organic products.  
MDA is an accredited certifier – annual fee is $500.00.  MDA offers a voluntary 
registered exempt certificate for under $5,000 in annual sales for $30.00.  
 
Poultry and Rabbit Processing Certification:  MDA certification or voluntary USDA 
inspection required for processers exempt from continuous inspection by the 
USDA Food Safety Inspection Service to sell product intrastate other than directly 
to consumers on the farm.  Annual renewal by MDA.  Cost:  $75.00. 
 
Process Authority:  A person(s) who has expert knowledge of thermal processing 
requirements for low-acid foods packaged in hermetically-sealed containers or 
has expert knowledge in the acidification and processing of acidified foods.  This 
person(s) evaluation of a scheduled process must be registered by FDA or USDA 
depending on the food.  Private Sector - fees vary. 
 
Processing License:  License issued by MD Department of Health to persons 
processing food.  Must meet commercial requirements.  Cost - $150.00 annually. 
 
Producer Mobile Farmer’s Market License:  Issued annually by MD Department of 
Health and covers sales at any farmers markets within Maryland.  Required for 
potentially hazardous products covered by the “On Farm Home Processing 
License” and meat and poultry certified by Maryland Department of Agriculture.  
Not required for eggs, non-processed fresh fruits and vegetables, non-potentially 
hazardous baked goods and non-potentially hazardous jams/jellies. Producers 
can obtain a license for each farmer’s market from the local health department 
where the market is located in lieu of the Mobile Farmer’s Market License. Cost - 
$100.00 annually. 
 
Seasonal Farmer’s Market Producer Sampling License:  Annual license intended 
for farmers that serve only foods that are prepared and offered as samples by a 
producer of a farm product at a farmer’s market or a public event, such as: (i) 
Farm products as specified in §.02B(30)(a) of regulation COMAR 10.15.03; or  (ii) 
Farm products that have been inspected, licensed, or certified for food safety by 
the Maryland Department of Agriculture.   Cost: Contact your local county health 
department to see if this license is offered.   
 
Scheduled process:  The process selected by the processor as adequate under 
the conditions of manufacture for a given product to achieve commercial sterility 
and/or maintaining a food that will not permit the growth of microorganisms 
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having public health significance. 
 

Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Baked Goods - with 
potentially 
hazardous toppings 
or fillings.  
Toppings, glazes, 
icings or fillings that 
must be 
refrigerated such as 
custard based, filled 
or topped with 
cream, cheese, etc. 

Processing license from MDH. Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
commercial kitchen and 
refrigeration.  Plan Review. 

Baked Goods - 
without potentially 
hazardous toppings 
or fillings.  Pies, 
turnovers, fruit tarts 
from fruits such as 
apples, apricots, 
blackberries, 
boysenberries, 
cherries, peaches, 
strawberries, etc.  
No cream, cheese, 
custards, etc. 

As a cottage food business, can 
sell directly from a farm or at 
farmer’s markets, from a 
residence or directly to a retail 
food store (ex. grocery store or 
food cooperative) with no 
license. Sales limited to less than 
$25,000.  

 

 

To sell to restaurants or other 
types of retailers, on-farm home 
processing license for sales less 
than $40,000.  Over $40,000.00 
requires a Processing License 
from MDH. 

Cottage foods - See above 
definition and COMAR 
10.15.03.27.  

For sales to a retail food 
store additional 
requirements, including 
completion of food safety 
training, apply. Submit 
application with MDH. Visit 
MDH's Cottage Food 
Business page at the 
website listed above.  

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system & 
home kitchen for less than 
$40,000.  Potable water, 
approved sewage disposal 
system, plan review & 
commercial kitchen for 
more than $40,000. 



MDA/MDH Value-Added Foods 
Revised 11/2019      Page 4 of 10 

Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Canned Goods - 
acidified - products 
that must be 
acidified to a pH of 
4.6 or less during 
processing such as 
artichokes, 
asparagus, beans, 
beets, broccoli, 
cabbage, corn, 
cucumber, peas, 
most peppers, 
potatoes, pumpkin, 
etc. 

On-farm home processing 
license from MDH if less than 
$40,000 in sales.  Processing 
license from MDH if more than 
$40,000 in sales.  FDA Better 
Process School training course 
required.   

Potable water, Process 
Authority, scheduled 
process filed with FDA & 
home kitchen for less than 
$40,000.  Potable Water, 
Process Authority, 
scheduled process filed 
with FDA & commercial 
kitchen for more than 
$40,000. Plan review for 
both types of licenses. 

Canned Goods - 
naturally acid (pH of 
4.6 or less) fruit 
such as apples, 
apricots, 
blackberries, 
boysenberries, 
cherries, grapes, 
peaches, etc. 

Evaluation needed in order to 
sell directly from farm or at 
farmer’s markets with no license.  
To sell to restaurants or retailers, 
on farm home processing license 
for sales less than $40,000.  Over 
$40,000.00 requires a 
Processing License from MDH   

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system & 
home kitchen for less than 
$40,000.  Potable water, 
approved sewage disposal 
system, plan review & 
commercial kitchen for 
more than $40,000. 

Dairy Products Requires a license from MDH. Regulated by the federal 
Pasteurized Milk 
Ordinance and State. 
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Dried Fruit (Fruit 
Leathers) - made 
with fruits with a 
natural pH of 4.6 or 
less such as apples, 
apricots, 
blackberries, 
peaches, 
strawberries, etc. 

As a cottage food business, can 
sell directly from a farm or at 
farmer’s markets, from a 
residence or directly to a retail 
food store (ex. grocery store or 
food cooperative) with no 
license. Sales limited to less than 
$25,000.  

 

 

To sell to restaurants or other 
types of retailers, on-farm home 
processing license for sales less 
than $40,000.  Over $40,000.00 
requires a Processing License 
from MDH. 

Cottage foods - See above 
definition and COMAR 
10.15.03.27.  

For sales to a retail food 
store additional 
requirements, including 
completion of food safety 
training, apply. Submit 
application with MDH. Visit 
MDH's Cottage Food 
Business page at the 
website listed above.  

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system & 
home kitchen for less than 
$40,000.  Potable water, 
approved sewage disposal 
system, plan review & 
commercial kitchen for 
more than $40,000. 

Dried Products (all 
other foods) 

On-farm home processing 
license from MDH if less than 
$40,000 in sales.  Processing 
license from MDH if more than 
$40,000 in sales.   

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system & 
home kitchen for less than 
$40,000.  Potable water, 
approved sewage disposal 
system, plan review & 
commercial kitchen for 
more than $40,000. 

Eggs Register with the Secretary of 
Agriculture annually (no fee if 
less than 3,000 chickens).  No 
retail license from local health 
department, no Producer Mobile 
Farmers Market License or any 
other health department license 
required if selling own 
production. 

Must meet minimum of 
Grade A standards, weight 
requirements, labeling 
requirements, invoice 
requirements and be held 
at 45°F. 

Fermented 
Products 

Processing license from MDH. Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
commercial kitchen and 
refrigeration.  Plan Review. 
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Fruit, Butters – 
Pumpkin, banana or 
pear 

Processing license from MDH. Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
commercial kitchen and 
refrigeration.  Plan Review. 

Fruit, uncut and not 
processed 

No license required from MDH or 
local health department.  Over 
$26,999 in annual sales regulated 
by MDA. 

Dependent on annual 
sales, requires compliance 
with all or portions of the 
Food Safety Modernization 
Act Produce Safety Rule. 

Fruit, Cut or 
Processed - ready 
to eat 

Processing license from MDH. 

Seasonal farmer’s market 
producer sampling license from 
local health department. 

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
plan review & commercial 
kitchen 

Honey No license required if no flavors 
added (raw agricultural product). 
If further processed, on-farm 
home processing license from 
MDH if less than $40,000 in sales 
or processing license from MDH 
if more than $40,000 in sales.   

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system & 
home kitchen for less than 
$40,000.  Potable water, 
approved sewage disposal 
system, plan review & 
commercial kitchen for 
more than $40,000. 
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Jellies and Jams – 
made with fruits 
with a natural pH of 
4.6 or less such as 
apples, apricots, 
blackberries, 
peaches, 
strawberries, etc. 

As a cottage food business, can 
sell directly from a farm or at 
farmer’s markets, from a 
residence or directly to a retail 
food store (ex. grocery store or 
food cooperative) with no 
license. Sales limited to less than 
$25,000.  

 

 

 

 

 

To sell to restaurants or other 
types of retailers, on-farm home 
processing license for sales less 
than $40,000.  Over $40,000.00 
requires a Processing License 
from MDH. 

No paraffin wax seals 
allowed – hot filled into 
sterile Mason jars with ¼” 
head space.   

Cottage foods - See above 
definition and COMAR 
10.15.03.27. For sales to a 
retail food store additional 
requirements, including 
completion of food safety 
training, apply. Submit 
application with MDH. Visit 
MDH's Cottage Food 
Business page at the 
website listed above.  

For other than cottage 
foods sales, potable water, 
approved sewage disposal 
system & home kitchen for 
less than $40,000.  Potable 
Water, approved sewage 
disposal system, plan 
review & commercial 
kitchen for more than 
$40,000. 

Meats - non USDA 
regulated (bison, 
rabbits, etc.) 

On farm sales only without 
inspection.  Can have voluntary 
inspection by USDA or MDA to 
qualify for sales off farm.  If 
slaughtered, packaged and 
labeled at a USDA facility, can be 
returned to farm for sales.  Must 
have a license from MDH for on 
farm storage (Under $40,000 in 
sales – On-Farm Home 
Processing License, Over 
$40,000 in sales – Processing 
License) unless farm is certified 
through MDA’s Poultry and 
Rabbit Processing Program.  
Producer Mobile Farmer’s 
Market License required for sales 
at Farmer’s Markets. 

For storage on farm – 
Commercial freezer 
capable of maintaining 
product temperature of 
0°F for frozen. 
Refrigeration capable of 
maintaining product 
temperature of 40ºF for 
fresh.  Dry ice or 
mechanical freezer 
capable of maintaining 
product 0°F or below for 
frozen product; 
refrigeration capable of 
maintaining product 
temperature of 40ºF or less 
for sales at markets. 
Refreezing not allowed. 



MDA/MDH Value-Added Foods 
Revised 11/2019      Page 8 of 10 

Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Meats - USDA 
regulated - Cattle, 
Swine, Sheep, Goats 
and Equine; cured  
and processed 
meats 

Cannot slaughter, process, 
package or label without USDA 
inspection.  Can have the 
product slaughtered, packaged 
and labeled at a USDA inspected 
facility and return to the farm for 
sales.  Must have a license from 
MDH for on farm storage (Under 
$40,000 in sales – On-Farm 
Home Processing License, Over 
$40,000 in sales – Processing 
License) unless farm is certified 
through MDA’s Poultry and 
Rabbit Processing Program.  
Producer Mobile Farmer’s 
Market license required for sales 
at Farmer’s Markets. 

For storage on farm – 
Commercial freezer 
capable of maintaining 
product temperature of 
0°F for frozen. 
Refrigeration capable of 
maintaining product 
temperature of 40ºF for 
fresh.  Dry ice or 
mechanical freezer 
capable of maintaining 
product 0°F or below for 
frozen product; 
refrigeration capable of 
maintaining product 
temperature of 40ºF or less 
for sales at markets. 
Refreezing not allowed. 

Organic labeling Under $5,000 in annual sales no 
official certification required.  
Over $5,000 in annual sales must 
be certified by a USDA 
accredited certifier such as MDA. 

Not certified:  Must follow 
requirements of the USDA 
National Organic Program 
and can only label the 
product organic.   Label 
cannot state certified seal, 
100% organic or bear the 
USDA NOP seal.  Certified:  
Name of certifier 
immediately below the 
name and address of the 
producer. 
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Pickles, canned On-farm home processing 
license from DHMH if less than 
$40,000 in sales.  Processing 
license from MDH if more than 
$40,000 in sales.  FDA Better 
Process School training course 
and scheduled process from a 
process authority required.   

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
Process Authority, 
scheduled process filed 
with FDA & home kitchen 
for less than $40,000.  
Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
Process Authority, 
scheduled process filed 
with FDA & commercial 
kitchen for more than 
$40,000. Plan review for 
both types of licenses. 

Poultry – less than 
20,000 slaughtered 
annually meeting 
one of the USDA 
FSIS exemptions 
from continuous 
inspection. 

Can slaughter and sell directly 
from farm to consumers without 
a license or inspection from 
MDH or MDA.  To slaughter and 
sell to retailers, restaurants or at 
a farmer’s market must be 
inspected by USDA for interstate 
and intrastate sales or for 
intrastate sales only by MDA.  
Can be slaughtered, packaged 
and labeled at a USDA inspected 
facility and returned to the farm 
for storage and sales.  Must have 
a license from MDH for on farm 
storage (Under $40,000 in sales 
– On-Farm Home Processing 
License, Over $40,000 in sales – 
Processing License). No MDH or 
local health department license 
required on farm if participating 
in MDA’s Poultry and Rabbit 
Processing Program.  Mobile 
Farmer’s Market License 
required for sales at Farmer’s 
Markets. 

All:  Must be own 
production.  Potable water 
and approved processing 
waste water disposal (MDE 
approved disposal or local 
health septic).  Product 
cannot be adulterated:  
contaminated with filth, 
held under unsanitary 
conditions, contain any 
poisonous or added 
deleterious substance, etc.  
Must be held at 40ºF or 
less if fresh, 0ºF or less if 
frozen.  Off farm sales: 
Must have voluntary 
continuous inspection by 
USDA or participate in 
MDA’s voluntary program. 
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Product Licenses Required Basic Requirements 

Poultry - more than 
20,000 slaughtered 
annually 

USDA continuous inspection 
required.  Producer Mobile 
Farmer’s Market License 
required to sell at a Farmer’s 
Market. 

Continuous inspection by 
USDA/FSIS of slaughter:   
poultry health and 
sanitation. 

Sampling (On Farm 
-Food/Drink) at 
Farms, Farmers 
Markets or Wineries 

Contact your local health 
department 

Requirements differ for 
different licenses.   

Sauerkraut and 
other fermented 
products 

Processing license from MDH. Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system & 
commercial kitchen.  Plan 
Review. 

Vegetables, uncut 
and not processed 

No license required from MDH or 
local health department.  Over 
$26,999 in annual sales regulated 
by MDA. 

Dependent on annual 
sales, requires compliance 
with all or portions of the 
Food Safety Modernization 
Act Produce Safety Rule. 

Vegetables, cut or 
processed - Ready 
to Eat 

Processing license from MDH. 

Seasonal farmer’s market 
producer sampling license from 
local health department. 

Potable water, approved 
sewage disposal system, 
plan review & commercial 
kitchen 

 


