Board of Trustees

The Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation is administered by a thirteen-member Board of Trustees which includes the State's Comptroller, Treasurer, Secretary of Agriculture, and Secretary of Planning, all of whom serve as "ex officio" members. The other nine members of the Board serve "at-large" and represent various regions of the State. All members are appointed by the Governor and serve a term of four years. At least five of the at-large members are farmer representatives; the Board has representation from the Maryland Agricultural Commission, the Maryland Farm Bureau, the Maryland State Grange, and the Maryland Young Farmers' Advisory Board.

For a current list of board members, please contact the program.

Responsibilities of the Foundation's Board of Trustees include

  • Disseminating information to farmland owners and other Maryland citizens;
  • Providing assistance and coordination to the twenty-three Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Boards;
  • Promulgating program rules, regulations, and procedures;
  • Reviewing and approving easement applications; and
  • Acquiring by purchase or donation, agricultural land preservation easements on productive agricultural land. 
Board Members

William Allen        
Chair, Board of Trustees
At Large Representative
Frederick County resident
Gary Dell   
At Large Representative
Carroll County resident
At-large Representative
Young Farmers Representative               
Cricket Goodall        
Farm Bureau Representative
County resident

J. Bruce Yerkes
Maryland Grange Representative
Cecil County resident

Elizabeth Hill       
Agriculture Commission Representative        
County resident        
Catherine Cosgrove
At-large Representative        
Calvert County resident

Gilbert "Buddy Bowling    
At-large Representative ​     
Charles County resident
Joseph W. Wood
At-large Representative
St. Mary's County resident

​The Honorable Brooke E. Lierman
State Comptroller
Ex Officio Member
Represented by Ben Seigel
The Honorable Rebecca Flora​        
Secretary of Planning
Ex Officio Member
Represented by Debbie Herr Cornwell        
The Honorable Dereck E. Davis
State Treasurer
Ex Officio Member        
Represented by Joanna Kille
The Honorable Kevin Atticks
Secretary of Agriculture
Ex Officio Member
Represented by Deputy Secretary Steve Connelly



Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information
on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information