Board Members & Meetings

All Board positions are appointed by the Governor.  Members serve 5-year terms, and may serve up two full consecutive terms. The Board meets the 4th Thursday of every month except in November and December, when the meetings are held early to avoid conflicts with the holidays. Please call prior to attending a meeting to confirm the date/location. 

Meetings are currently held by Google Meets due to the COVID-19 pandemic; however, the Board iintends to meet in-person once a quarter. In-person meetings are held at the Maryland Department of Agriculture in Annapolis.

Board Meetings
2022
January 27, 2022 - Agenda - Minutes​ - No​tice​​
February 24, 2022- Agenda - Minutes - Notice
March 24, 2022 - Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
April 28, 2022 - Agenda - Minutes - Notice

2021
January 28, 2021 -Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
February 25, 2021 -Agenda ​- Minutes​ - Notice
March 25, 2021 -Agenda ​- Minutes​ - Notice​
April 22, 2021 -Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice
May 27, 2021-Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
June 24, 2021 -Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
July 22,2021 - Agenda ​- Minutes​ - Notice​
August 26, 2021 - Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice
September 23, 2021 - Agenda​ - Minutes ​- Notice​
October 28, 2021 - Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
November - None 
December 9, 2021 - Agenda - Minutes - Notice​


2020
January 23, 2020 - Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
February 27, 2020 - Agenda - Minutes - Notice
March 26, 2020 - Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice
April 23, 2020 - Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
May 28,2020 - Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
June 25, 2020 - Agenda​ - Minutes​​ - Notice
July 23, 2020 - Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice
August 27, 2020 - Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice
Sept. 24, 2020 -Agenda​ -Minutes​ - Notice
October 22, 2020: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
November 19, 2020: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice
December 17, 2020: Agenda - Minutes - Notice 

2019
January 24, 2019: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
February 28, 2019: Agenda​ - MinutesNotice​
March 28, 2019:  Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
April 25, 2019: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
May 30, 2019: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
June 27, 2019: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
July 25, 2019: Cancelled
August 22, 2019: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
September 26, 2019: Cancelled
October 3, 2019: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
November 7, 2019: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
December 12, 2019: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice


2018
January 25, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice
February 22, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
March 2018: Meeting cancelled due to inclement weather
April 26, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice ​
May 24, 2018: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
June 28, 218: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
July 26, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
August 23, 2018: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​
Sept 20, 2018: Agenda ​- Minutes - Notice ​
October 25, 2018 meeting was rescheduled  
November 1, 2018: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​
December 6, 2018: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​


2017
October 27, 2016: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
November 17, 2016: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
December 15, 2016: Agenda​ - Minutes​* - Notice
January 26, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​
February 23, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​
March 23, 2017: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
April 27, 2017 : Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice
May 25, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
June 22, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
July 27, 2017: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
August 24, 2017: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
Sept. 28, 2017: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​​
Oct. 26, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
November: No meeting
Dec. 7, 2017: Agenda ​- Minutes​ - Notice 








Board Members (Term Expires)   

Elizabeth D. Callahan, DVM
President 
Veterinarian, Equine
elizabeth.callahan@maryland.gov
(5/31/2024)*

Karena Joung, VMD 
Vice President
Veterinarian, Small Animal
karena.joung@maryland.gov
(5/31/2024)​

Christine Calvert, DVM
Veterinarian, Small Animal
Christine.calvert@maryland.gov
(5/31/2024)​

Lynne Chaput (5/31/2022) 
Consumer Member
lynne.chaput@maryland.gov

Patty Quimby (5/31/2026)
Consumer Member
patty.quimby@maryland.gov
 
Peter Radue, DVM (5/31/2023)
Veterinarian, Equine
peter.radue@maryland.gov

James Reed, DVM (5/31/2025)
Veterinarian, Small Animal
james.reed@maryland.gov

Staff
Nathan Boan
Executive Director
nathaniel.boan@maryland.gov 
Susan Husk
Assistant Director 
susan.husk@maryland.gov
Tonya Kendrick
Licensing Administrator
tonya.kendrick@maryland.gov
Pegeen Morgan
Hospital Inspector
pegeen.morgan@maryland.gov
Ellen James
Hospital Inspector 
ellen.james@maryland.gov
Sarah Hultz
Investigator
sarah.hultz@maryland.gov
Britney Branch
Administrative Specialist 
britney.branch@maryland.gov

Assistant Attorney General 
Cynthia Spirt
cynthia.spirt1@maryland.gov

Media Inquiries: 
Jason Schellhardt
Director of Communications
410-841-5889

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information