PDMP Mandatory
Registration in CRISP  PDM

Overview

With recent changes to Maryland state statute (HB437 / Chapter 147, 2016), CDS prescribers and pharmacists in
Maryland are required to register for the Maryland Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.

The Maryland Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) is administered by the Department of Health and Mental

Hygiene (DHMH), Behavioral Health Administration (BHA). Registration and PDMP access are implemented through the
Chesapeake Regional Information System for our Patients (CRISP) — The state-designated health information exchange

serving Maryland and the District of Columbia.

Who is subject to the legal registration mandate?
Pharmacists: Licensed pharmacists in Maryland must be registered with the PDMP by July 1, 2017.

Prescribers: Practitioners authorized to prescribe CDS in Maryland must be registered with the PDMP by July 1, 2017

CDS prescribers include: physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, nurse midwives, dentists,
podiatrists, and veterinarians.

Course of Instruction training requirement: The new PDMP statute requires all registrants complete a course of
instruction on effective use of the PDMP. You will meet this legal requirement by completing the full registration
process; the training is provided in video format imbedded in the registration workflow.

Please review the Updated PDMP Legislation Fact Sheet® from the Behavioral Health Administration for more
information about this and other legal changes to the PDMP that may affect you.

Registration instructions

If you are a new registrant...

New users who do not currently have access to PDMP can register online. Please set aside 30 minutes to complete the
registration and training process. You may save your progress and continue later. PDMP Registration Home Page?

The registration process for all registrants will include a training video and a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) that
should be electronically signed. Upon completion of the registration Process, an email with a PDMP Registration Code
will be sent to the email address specified in the registration process. Please save the PDMP Registration Code for your
records. It is advised that you use an e-mail address that you can access regardless of professional or workplace
affiliation.

o Ifyou are an existing CDS prescriber and have a Maryland License number, DEA, NPI, and CDS numbers:

Required to register in the Auto-Registration Process:
e 30 minutes to complete the registration
e Computer with internet connection and audio

1 Updated PDMP Legislation Fact Sheet:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/dental/pdf/UPDATED%20PDMP%20Legislation%20Fact%20Sheet_06Jun2016%20(2)%20(2)%20(1).pdf
2 PDMP Registration Homepage: http://crisphealth.org/services/prescription-drug-monitoring-program-pdmp/pdmp-registration/


http://dhmh.maryland.gov/dental/pdf/UPDATED%20PDMP%20Legislation%20Fact%20Sheet_06Jun2016%20(2)%20(2)%20(1).pdf
http://crisphealth.org/services/prescription-drug-monitoring-program-pdmp/pdmp-registration/

e Anindividual e-mail address that only you access
e Your healthcare professional license, DEA, NPI, and CDS numbers

The registration process will require you to answer a series of questions to confirm your identity and will ask you
to confirm information for registration. Please provide the requested information throughout the process.

For a PDMP Auto-Registration Process Step by Step Guide, please visit the CRISP PDMP Registration Home
Page Auto-Registration Training Guide®

e Ifyou are a pharmacist or a new prescriber with a Maryland License number, OR if you do not have a CDS
and/or DEA number at this time (e.g. unemployed prescriber, etc.):

Required to register in the Standard Registration Process:

e 30 minutes to complete the registration

e Computer with internet connection and audio

e Anindividual e-mail address that only you access

e An electronic copy of your Driver's License, Employee ID, or Passport

e Your healthcare professional license, DEA, NPI, and CDS numbers, if applicable

For a Standard Registration Step-by-Step Guide, please visit the CRISP PDMP Registration Home Page

New Prescriber Training Guide*

If you are already registered with PDMP...

If you currently have access to PDMP, you do not have to take additional steps at this time. You are already registered!
Registration occurs only once and if you have ever registered for PDMP access in the past, you meet the legal mandate
and are compliant with the PDMP course of instruction requirement under the law.

If the e-mail address you registered with becomes inactivated, please contact CRISP (877-952-7477 or
support@crisphealth.org) to provide an updated e-mail address that only you can access. This will ensure your access to
PDMP regardless of any occupational organization affiliation.

If you are not sure if you are already registered with PDMP...

If you are a CDS prescriber, you can visit the PDMP Registration Homepage® to begin the Auto-Registration Process.
Complete the first step of entering your DEA and license number. If an account exists for those credentials, you will be
alerted on the screen and an email will be sent to the email address on record with CRISP.

If you are a pharmacist, please contact CRISP (877-952-7477 or support@crisphealth.org).

3 Auto-Registration Training Guide: http://crisphealth.org/wp-content/themes/flat-bootstrap-crisp/assets/files/Step-by-
step%20guide%20to%20Prescriber%20registration%20-%20Final.pdf

4 New Prescriber Training Guide: http://crisphealth.org/wp-content/themes/flat-bootstrap-crisp/assets/files/Step-by-
step%20guide%20to%20Pharmacist%20and%20New%20Prescriber%20Registration%20-%20Final.pdf

> PDMP Registration Homepage: http://crisphealth.org/services/prescription-drug-monitoring-program-pdmp/pdmp-registration/


http://crisphealth.org/wp-content/themes/flat-bootstrap-crisp/assets/files/Step-by-step%20guide%20to%20Prescriber%20registration%20-%20Final.pdf
http://crisphealth.org/wp-content/themes/flat-bootstrap-crisp/assets/files/Step-by-step%20guide%20to%20Pharmacist%20and%20New%20Prescriber%20Registration%20-%20Final.pdf
http://crisphealth.org/services/prescription-drug-monitoring-program-pdmp/pdmp-registration/
mailto:support@crisphealth.org

More Information

For any legal, policy, or PDMP programmatic questions, please contact the Maryland PDMP Office at 410-402-
8686 or dhmh.pdmp@maryland.gov

For questions about how to register for PDMP, please contact CRISP at 877-952-7477 or
support@crisphealth.org.

For any questions regarding the status of your CDS permit or to register for a CDS permit, please contact the
Maryland Office of Controlled Substances Administration at 410-764-2890.
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