Maryland Department of Agriculture Board of Review Factsheet

Official Name of Board or Commission

Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation

Statutory Authority: Agriculture Article, Maryland Annotated Code §§ 2-501 - 2-517 and COMAR 15.15.01 - 15.15.03.  

Entity's Vision and Mission:
The Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Program, in existence since 1977, is one of the most successful programs of its kind in the country. Its primary purpose is to preserve sufficient agricultural land to maintain a viable local base of food and fiber production for the present and future citizens of Maryland. The Program purchases perpetual agricultural conservation easements to prevent farmland from being developed for residential, commercial or industrial uses. 

Primary Function:
The Maryland Agricultural Land Preservation Foundation is administered by a thirteen-member Board of Trustees which includes the State's Comptroller, Treasurer, Secretary of Agriculture, and Secretary of Planning all of whom serve as ex officio members. The other nine members of the Board serve "at-large" and represent various regions of the State. All members are appointed by the Governor and serve a term of four years. At least six of the at-large members are farmer representatives, of whom four represent the Maryland Agricultural Commission, the Maryland Farm Bureau, Maryland State Grange and the Young Farmers Advisory Board. 

Responsibilities of the Foundation's Board of Trustees include:

  • Disseminating information to farmland owners and other Maryland citizens;
  • Providing assistance and coordination to the twenty-three Agricultural Land Preservation Advisory Boards;
  • Promulgating program rules, regulations, and procedures;
  • Reviewing and approving easement applications; and
  • Acquiring, by purchase or donation, agricultural land preservation easements on productive agricultural land.

Entity's members:
Appointed Members of the Board of Trustees

​Appointed Member Board​ ​County
Michael Calkins Chair, Young Farmers' Advisory Board Representative
Robin S. Kable   
At-large Representative
William Allen At-large Representative Frederick
Cricket Goodall Farm Bureau Representative
J. Bruce Yerkes Maryland Grange Representative Cecil 
Elizabeth Hill       
Agriculture Commission Representative        
Catherine Cosgrove At-large Representative Calvert
James K. Weddle  At-large Representative
Joseph W. Wood At-large Representative St. Mary's

Ex-Officio Members of the Board of Trustees

Honorable Nancy K. Kopp
State Treasurer
Represented by Joanna Kille
Honorable Joe Bartenfelder​
Secretary of Agriculture
Represented by Julie Oberg
Honorable Peter Franchot
State Comptroller
Represented by Jerome Klasmeier
Honorable Robert McCord
Secretary of Planning
Represented by Debbie Herr Cornwell 
Primary Contact for the Public:
Maryland Department of Agriculture
50 Harry S. Truman Parkway, Room 104
Annapolis, Maryland 21401-8960
Phone: 410-841-5860

Entity's Meeting Schedule: It is the objective of the Foundation to meet the 4th Tuesday of every month with the exception of December when the meeting may be held early to avoid conflicts with the holidays. Please call prior to attending a meeting to confirm the date/location. 

​ ​​​​​