Governor’s Intergovernmental Commission for Agriculture

Vision and Mission:

The Commission shall work to promote the economic profitability of agriculture in the State by ensuring that all appropriate State agencies work in a cooperative, coordinated manner with local government and industry groups in planning, implementing, overseeing and evaluating intergovernmental initiatives related to agricultural affairs of the State.

Primary Responsibilities:
  1. ​Promote a clear and consistent business-friendly climate for agriculture in the State by serving as a liaison between the Governor and local governments and industry organizations;
  2. Develop an annual, coordinated intergovernmental plan for services and functions dealing with the agricultural affairs of the State;
  3. Develop procedures for identifying and assessing agricultural developments with a potential for impact on the State and on local governments;
  4. Develop and implement a consistent, systematic method for the coordination of the State's agricultural economic development activities;
  5. Develop and implement specific and measurable actions to improve the economic and regulatory climate for agriculture in the State;
  6. Make recommendations for programs and policies, if appropriate, in order to ensure that the needs and goals of the State's agricultural strategy are met and accomplished; AND
  7. Undertake the establishment of an "agricultural affairs information center" that serves as the first point of contact regarding agricultural issues impacting farmers in the State.

Members (Ex Officio)​ ​ ​
Member Departments​​Secretary​​ Designee
Department of Agriculture​
​Kevin Atticks
Steve Connelly
Department of Commerce​​Kevin Anderson
​Ewing McDowell
​Department of​ the Environment​Serena Mcllwain
​Suzanne Dorsey
​Department of Health​Laura Herrera Scott
​Kirk Engle
Department of Natural Resources​​Josh Kurtz
​Dan Rider
Department of Planning​​Rebecca Flora
​Val Lazdins​
​University of Maryland
College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
​Dr. Craig Beyrouty​Dave Myers

​Member Organizations​​​​​ ​
​Member OrganizationsMember
​Maryland Agricultural Commission
​Maryland Association of County Health Officials
Steve Sherrard
​Maryland Association of County Planning Officials​Amy Moredock
​MARBIDCO​​Steve McHenry
​Maryland Association of Counties
​Maryland Farm Bureau​Howie Feaga
Maryland Municipal League​Michael Kline​
Rural Maryland Council​Matthew Teffeau​

​General Public Members​​​ ​
Organization Member
​Maryland Agricultural Education Foundation​Susanne Zilberfarb
​Horizon Farm Credit​Kurt Fuchs
​Garrett County Maryland Economic Development​Cheryl DeBerry
​Washington County Department of Business Development​Leslie Hart
​Anne Arundel Economic Development Corporation
​Perdue Farms Inc.            ​Kathryn Danko
​Patricia Langenfelder
​Dr. Mortimer Hugh Neufville
​Thomas Skilton​
​Kathy Abt​

Annual Reports:

  2017 2015

​​​Primary Contact

Rachel Jones
Director of Legislation & Government Relations
Phone: (410) 841-5886

Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information
on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information