Specialty Crop Grants

​​specialty crops

Specialty Crop Block Grant Program​

The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Marketing Service (USDA-AMS) awards Specialty Crop Block Grants (SCBGP) to the 50 States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. Territories. In Maryland, the Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA) administers these funds to enhance the competitiveness of Maryland specialty crops. 

Specialty Crop Multi-State Program

The 2015 Specialty Crop Multi-State Program (SCMP) will award up to $3 million to collaborative, multi-state projects that solely enhance the competitiveness of specialty crops by addressing regional or national specialty crop issues including food safety; plant pests and disease; research; crop-specific projects addressing common issues; and marketing and promotion. Stakeholder projects must include at least one partner in another state and be submitted to a Participating State department of agriculture.​

What are Specialty Crops?

Specialty crops are defined as fruits, vegetables, tree nuts, dried fruits, horticulture, and nursery crops. Eligible plants must be intensively cultivated and used by people for food, medicinal purposes, and/or aesthetic gratification to be considered specialty crops. For a list of eligible and ineligible crops, please see Definition of Specialty Crops​​.

​​Photo credit: Edwin Remsberg

Contact Information

Karen Fedor​
Program Manager
Phone: 410-841-5773


50 Harry S. Truman Prkwy
Annapolis, MD 21401

​Specialty Crop Block Grant Program ​​

Specialty Crop Multi-State Program​​​