Board Members & Meetings

All Board positions are appointed by the Governor.  Members serve 5-year terms, and may serve up two full consecutive terms. The Board meets the 4th Thursday of every month except iin November and December, when the meetings are held early to avoid conflicts with the holidays. Please call prior to attending a meeting to confirm the date/location.

Board Meetings

2018
January 25, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice
February 22, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
March 2018: Meeting cancelled due to inclement weather
April 26, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice ​
May 24, 2018: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
June 28, 218: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
July 26, 2018: Agenda - minutes - Notice​
August 23, 2018: Agenda​ - minutes - Notice​
September 20, 2018: Agenda ​- minutes - Notice ​
October 25, 2018 meeting was rescheduled  
November 1, 2018: Agenda​ - minutes - Notice​
December 6, 2018: Agenda​ - minutes - Notice​


2017
October 27, 2016: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
November 17, 2016: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
December 15, 2016: Agenda​ - Minutes​* - Notice
January 26, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​
February 23, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes - Notice​
March 23, 2017: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
April 27, 2017 : Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice
May 25, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
June 22, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
July 27, 2017: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​
August 24, 2017: Agenda - Minutes - Notice​
Sept. 28, 2017: Agenda - Minutes​ - Notice​​
Oct. 26, 2017: Agenda​ - Minutes​ - Notice​
November: No meeting
Dec. 7, 2017: Agenda ​- Minutes​ - Notice 


Board Members (Term Expires)   

David L. Handel, DVM (5/31/2019)*
President 
Vet​erinarian, Small Animal
david.handel@maryland.gov

Heather M. Hendler, VMD (5/31/2020)*
Vice President
Veterinarian, Small Animal
heather.hendler@maryland.gov

Elizabeth D. Callahan, DVM (5/31/2019) Veterinarian, Equine
elizabeth.callahan@maryland.gov

Lynne Chaput (5/31/2022) *
Consumer Member
lynne.chaput@maryland.gov

Karena Joung, VMD (6/1/2019)
Veterinarian, Small Animal
karena.joung@maryland.gov

Peter Radue, DVM (5/31/2023)
Veterinarian, Equine
peter.radue@maryland.gov

Victoria Wright-Conner (5/31/2021)
Consumer Member
victoria.wright-conner@maryland.gov

*Members in their second and final term

Staff
Vanessa Orlando
Executive Director
vanessa.orlando@maryland.gov
Susan Husk
Assistant Director 
susan.husk@maryland.gov
Tonya Kendrick
Licensing Administrator
tonya.kendrick@maryland.gov
Pegeen Morgan
Inspector
pegeen.morgan@maryland.gov
Ellen James
Inspector 
ellen.james@maryland.gov
Britney Branch
Administrative Specialist 
britney.branch@maryland.gov
Cynthia Spirt
cynthia.spirt1@maryland.gov
Assistant Attorney General 

Media Inquiries: 
Jason Schellhardt
Director of Communications
410-841-5889